Skip to content
My Shortlist
Medicine

Compare medicine degrees across Australia

6 medicine bachelor courses at 5 universities in 4 states and territories, side by side. Each campus is listed separately. Universities are listed by state, largest first, then alphabetically. We don't rank them, and none of them pays to be here.

How entry works in medicine

Your ATAR is necessary here and nowhere near sufficient. Most direct-entry medical courses combine a very high rank with an admission test (usually the UCAT) and an interview, and weight all three. Several also run rural, Indigenous and other entry schemes with different thresholds. Treat the rank shown here as one of three or four things you must clear, read the admission centre's page for this specific course, and do not read a lowest ATAR as a target.

Get these medicine courses sorted for you

Tell us your ATAR and where you want to study. We'll sort them by how well they fit you, and show you why.

Find my matches

Before you compare

  • Entry ranks are a past year's, not a cut-off. Each is the lowest rank and the lowest ATAR that got an offer, with the median rank where it's published, for the year shown. How ATARs really work
  • Teaching, experience and graduate jobs come from QILT's national surveys of medicine students and graduates at each university, shown against the national average.
  • Completion rates cover all of a university's bachelor students, not medicine alone, and partly reflect who a university enrols.
  • Cost: about $14,046 a year for every course here, the 2027 student contribution. Paid through HELP once you're earning, not upfront.Estimate

Results out? How change of preference works in your state

Victoria

The University of Melbourne

1 medicine course

Teaching quality
Not reported
Overall student experience
Not reported
Full-time employment
52.8%
Median starting salary
Not reported

Source: QILT, SES 2023-2024, CEQ 2024-2025, GOS 2023-2025

92.5% of all Melbourne bachelor students who started in 2016 finished a degree within nine years, there or at another university. Source: Dept of Education, 2024

Queensland

James Cook University

2 medicine courses

Teaching quality
80.7%
Overall student experience
85.5%
Full-time employment
96.4%
Median starting salary
$87,400

Source: QILT, SES 2023-2024, CEQ 2024-2025, GOS 2023-2025

64% of all James Cook bachelor students who started in 2016 finished a degree within nine years, there or at another university. Source: Dept of Education, 2024

Western Australia

The University of Western Australia

1 medicine course

Teaching quality
Not reported
Overall student experience
Not reported
Full-time employment
42.1%
Median starting salary
Not reported

Source: QILT, SES 2023-2024, CEQ 2024-2025, GOS 2023-2025

82.3% of all UWA bachelor students who started in 2016 finished a degree within nine years, there or at another university. Source: Dept of Education, 2024

South Australia

Medicine courses sorted for you

Tell us your ATAR, where you want to study and what matters most. We'll match you with courses and show exactly why each one fits.

Find my matches

Was this page helpful?

Careers adviser or teacher? There's a page for you with a one-page summary, a 20-minute classroom activity and everything here to share.

Which courses are included, and where every figure comes from: our data and methodology.