Skip to content
My Shortlist
Law & Paralegal Studies

Compare law degrees across Australia

132 law bachelor courses at 28 universities in 7 states and territories, side by side. Each campus is listed separately. Universities are listed by state, largest first, then alphabetically. We don't rank them, and none of them pays to be here.

Get these law courses sorted for you

Tell us your ATAR and where you want to study. We'll sort them by how well they fit you, and show you why.

Find my matches

Before you compare

  • Entry ranks are a past year's, not a cut-off. Each is the lowest rank and the lowest ATAR that got an offer, with the median rank where it's published, for the year shown. How ATARs really work
  • Teaching, experience and graduate jobs come from QILT's national surveys of law students and graduates at each university, shown against the national average.
  • Completion rates cover all of a university's bachelor students, not law alone, and partly reflect who a university enrols.
  • Cost: about $18,025 a year for every course here, the 2027 student contribution. Paid through HELP once you're earning, not upfront.Estimate

How entry usually works: Selection is primarily ATAR-based, and law is often among the most competitive courses at a university. Units 3 and 4 English is the usual prerequisite. Practising as a lawyer takes further practical legal training after the degree.

Results out? How change of preference works in your state

New South Wales

Australian Catholic University

6 law courses

Teaching quality
80.3%
Overall student experience
76.7%
Full-time employment
73.7%
Median starting salary
$67,800

Source: QILT, SES 2023-2024, CEQ 2024-2025, GOS 2023-2025

70.5% of all ACU bachelor students who started in 2016 finished a degree within nine years, there or at another university. Source: Dept of Education, 2024

The University of New England

5 law courses

Teaching quality
83.5%
Overall student experience
82.9%
Full-time employment
86.8%
Median starting salary
$88,000

Source: QILT, SES 2023-2024, CEQ 2024-2025, GOS 2023-2025

52.4% of all UNE bachelor students who started in 2016 finished a degree within nine years, there or at another university. Source: Dept of Education, 2024

The University of Sydney

5 law courses

Teaching quality
87.7%
Overall student experience
80.7%
Full-time employment
88.9%
Median starting salary
$86,000

Source: QILT, SES 2023-2024, CEQ 2024-2025, GOS 2023-2025

81% of all Sydney bachelor students who started in 2016 finished a degree within nine years, there or at another university. Source: Dept of Education, 2024

University of Technology Sydney

2 law courses

Teaching quality
85.9%
Overall student experience
82.1%
Full-time employment
81.9%
Median starting salary
$80,300

Source: QILT, SES 2023-2024, CEQ 2024-2025, GOS 2023-2025

82.7% of all UTS bachelor students who started in 2016 finished a degree within nine years, there or at another university. Source: Dept of Education, 2024

University of Wollongong

2 law courses

Teaching quality
84.5%
Overall student experience
80%
Full-time employment
80.6%
Median starting salary
$73,300

Source: QILT, SES 2023-2024, CEQ 2024-2025, GOS 2023-2025

75.8% of all Wollongong bachelor students who started in 2016 finished a degree within nine years, there or at another university. Source: Dept of Education, 2024

Victoria

Australian Catholic University

5 law courses

Teaching quality
80.3%
Overall student experience
76.7%
Full-time employment
73.7%
Median starting salary
$67,800

Source: QILT, SES 2023-2024, CEQ 2024-2025, GOS 2023-2025

70.5% of all ACU bachelor students who started in 2016 finished a degree within nine years, there or at another university. Source: Dept of Education, 2024

Deakin University

10 law courses

Teaching quality
80.7%
Overall student experience
81.3%
Full-time employment
79.7%
Median starting salary
$71,000

Source: QILT, SES 2023-2024, CEQ 2024-2025, GOS 2023-2025

69.4% of all Deakin bachelor students who started in 2016 finished a degree within nine years, there or at another university. Source: Dept of Education, 2024

Federation University Australia

3 law courses

Teaching quality
97.6%
Overall student experience
90.9%
Full-time employment
Not reported
Median starting salary
Not reported

Source: QILT, SES 2023-2024, CEQ 2024-2025, GOS 2023-2025

61.7% of all Federation bachelor students who started in 2016 finished a degree within nine years, there or at another university. Source: Dept of Education, 2024

La Trobe University

8 law courses

Teaching quality
81.4%
Overall student experience
77.5%
Full-time employment
66.7%
Median starting salary
$68,400

Source: QILT, SES 2023-2024, CEQ 2024-2025, GOS 2023-2025

70% of all La Trobe bachelor students who started in 2016 finished a degree within nine years, there or at another university. Source: Dept of Education, 2024

Show 1 more degree

Monash University

14 law courses

Teaching quality
78.7%
Overall student experience
78.3%
Full-time employment
81.7%
Median starting salary
$75,000

Source: QILT, SES 2023-2024, CEQ 2024-2025, GOS 2023-2025

88.7% of all Monash bachelor students who started in 2016 finished a degree within nine years, there or at another university. Source: Dept of Education, 2024

Show 8 more degrees

RMIT University

5 law courses

Teaching quality
82%
Overall student experience
77.1%
Full-time employment
67.3%
Median starting salary
$58,700

Source: QILT, SES 2023-2024, CEQ 2024-2025, GOS 2023-2025

79.9% of all RMIT bachelor students who started in 2016 finished a degree within nine years, there or at another university. Source: Dept of Education, 2024

Swinburne University of Technology

7 law courses

Teaching quality
79.6%
Overall student experience
77.2%
Full-time employment
77.3%
Median starting salary
$75,300

Source: QILT, SES 2023-2024, CEQ 2024-2025, GOS 2023-2025

52.9% of all Swinburne bachelor students who started in 2016 finished a degree within nine years, there or at another university. Source: Dept of Education, 2024

Show 1 more degree

Victoria University

4 law courses

Teaching quality
77.6%
Overall student experience
80.3%
Full-time employment
60.6%
Median starting salary
$70,200

Source: QILT, SES 2023-2024, CEQ 2024-2025, GOS 2023-2025

61.1% of all Victoria University bachelor students who started in 2016 finished a degree within nine years, there or at another university. Source: Dept of Education, 2024

Queensland

James Cook University

6 law courses

Teaching quality
76.4%
Overall student experience
72.2%
Full-time employment
89.5%
Median starting salary
$67,800

Source: QILT, SES 2023-2024, CEQ 2024-2025, GOS 2023-2025

64% of all James Cook bachelor students who started in 2016 finished a degree within nine years, there or at another university. Source: Dept of Education, 2024

Queensland University of Technology

3 law courses

Teaching quality
81.5%
Overall student experience
78.7%
Full-time employment
89.7%
Median starting salary
$75,000

Source: QILT, SES 2023-2024, CEQ 2024-2025, GOS 2023-2025

75.4% of all QUT bachelor students who started in 2016 finished a degree within nine years, there or at another university. Source: Dept of Education, 2024

  • Bachelor of Business/Bachelor of Justice

    This degree does not qualify you to practise as a lawyer. That takes a Bachelor of Laws.

    Gardens Point/ Online · On campus or online · 4 years

    Lowest rank 71.55 · Lowest ATAR 69.55 · median 80.00 (2026)

  • Bachelor of Human Services/Bachelor of Justice

    This degree does not qualify you to practise as a lawyer. That takes a Bachelor of Laws.

    Kelvin Grove · On campus · 4 years

    Lowest rank 71.00 · Lowest ATAR 67.35 · median 73.50 (2026)

  • Bachelor of Justice

    This degree does not qualify you to practise as a lawyer. That takes a Bachelor of Laws.

    Kelvin Grove/ Online · On campus or online · 3 years

    Lowest rank 70.20 · Lowest ATAR 66.20 · median 79.20 (2026)

Southern Cross University

3 law courses

Teaching quality
86.6%
Overall student experience
82.6%
Full-time employment
81.4%
Median starting salary
$74,400

Source: QILT, SES 2023-2024, CEQ 2024-2025, GOS 2023-2025

55% of all Southern Cross bachelor students who started in 2016 finished a degree within nine years, there or at another university. Source: Dept of Education, 2024

University of Southern Queensland

3 law courses

Teaching quality
82.2%
Overall student experience
78.2%
Full-time employment
87.1%
Median starting salary
$80,700

Source: QILT, SES 2023-2024, CEQ 2024-2025, GOS 2023-2025

53.1% of all UniSQ bachelor students who started in 2016 finished a degree within nine years, there or at another university. Source: Dept of Education, 2024

University of the Sunshine Coast

3 law courses

Teaching quality
86.5%
Overall student experience
82.1%
Full-time employment
83.6%
Median starting salary
$65,700

Source: QILT, SES 2023-2024, CEQ 2024-2025, GOS 2023-2025

61.8% of all UniSC bachelor students who started in 2016 finished a degree within nine years, there or at another university. Source: Dept of Education, 2024

Western Australia

South Australia

Flinders University

25 law courses

Teaching quality
79.8%
Overall student experience
80.3%
Full-time employment
78.2%
Median starting salary
$67,000

Source: QILT, SES 2023-2024, CEQ 2024-2025, GOS 2023-2025

65.6% of all Flinders bachelor students who started in 2016 finished a degree within nine years, there or at another university. Source: Dept of Education, 2024

Show 9 more degrees

Australian Capital Territory

University of Canberra

2 law courses

Teaching quality
85.5%
Overall student experience
81.4%
Full-time employment
89.8%
Median starting salary
$76,000

Source: QILT, SES 2023-2024, CEQ 2024-2025, GOS 2023-2025

62.3% of all Canberra bachelor students who started in 2016 finished a degree within nine years, there or at another university. Source: Dept of Education, 2024

  • Bachelor of Justice Studies

    This degree does not qualify you to practise as a lawyer. That takes a Bachelor of Laws.

    Canberra · On campus · 3 years

    Lowest rank 62.60 · Lowest ATAR 57.60 · median 76.05 (2024)

  • Bachelor of Laws

    Canberra · On campus · 4 years

    Lowest rank 82.80 · Lowest ATAR 65.40 · median 95.35 (2024)

Northern Territory

Charles Darwin University

1 law course

Teaching quality
83.6%
Overall student experience
82.5%
Full-time employment
81.4%
Median starting salary
$80,000

Source: QILT, SES 2023-2024, CEQ 2024-2025, GOS 2023-2025

54.1% of all Charles Darwin bachelor students who started in 2016 finished a degree within nine years, there or at another university. Source: Dept of Education, 2024

  • Bachelor of Laws

    Education and Community Precinct · On campus or online · 3 years

    Lowest rank 81.10 · Lowest ATAR 78.50 · median 90.25 (2026)

Law courses sorted for you

Tell us your ATAR, where you want to study and what matters most. We'll match you with courses and show exactly why each one fits.

Find my matches

Was this page helpful?

Careers adviser or teacher? There's a page for you with a one-page summary, a 20-minute classroom activity and everything here to share.

Which courses are included, and where every figure comes from: our data and methodology.